Skip to page body Home About Us Governing Board For Customers Conservation Contact Us

The Sweetwater Authority governing board, or board of directors, is composed of seven members. Five directors are elected by division by the citizens of the South Bay Irrigation District (SBID). Two directors are appointed by the Mayor of National City, subject to City Council confirmation. See the map below to find your district representative. The governing board establishes policies and procedures for Sweetwater Authority operations (see policy documents below).

Sweetwater Authority’s governing board meetings are held on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month. Meetings are open to the public, and agendas are posted the Friday prior to each scheduled meeting.

South Bay Irrigation District (sbid) Directors

Steve Castaneda 

Photo of Director Cerda 

Jose Preciado

Terry Thomas

Director Calderon Scott

Steve Castaneda 
Division 1  

José F. Cerda
 Division 2

Jose Preciado
Division 3

Terry Thomas
Division 4  

Josie Calderon-Scott 
Division 5

National City Directors                                                     

Ron Morrison

Jess Van Deventer

Ron Morrison

Jess Van Deventer


Director Divisions (CLICK To enlarge)    

 SWA Service Area Thumbnail

Board Policies and Procedures
The Fair Political Practices Commission (FPPC) Form 806 is used to report additional compensation that officials receive when appointing themselves to positions on committees, boards or commissions of a public agency, special district, and joint powers agency or authority. Click here for the FPPC website.   
South Bay Irrigation District Policies and Procedures [PDF]
South Bay Irrigation District FPPC Form 806 [PDF]
Sweetwater Authority Policies and Procedures  [PDF]
Sweetwater Authority FPPC Form 806 [PDF]

The CA State Controller website publishes Government Compensation for Special Districts: See Sweetwater Authority  

Board Ethics Training Certificates [PDF]

ELECTIONS: For individuals interested in serving on the SBID Board, see the latest information and filing dates on the County of San Diego Registrar of Voters website. Elections for SBID representatives are held in the November general election in even-numbered years.

Last updated: 4/21/2017 8:54:41 AM