Terry Thomas

South Bay Irrigation District - Division 4

Term 2014-2018
  • Sweetwater Authority Governing Board Chair (2017-2018)
  • Sweetwater Authority Communications Committee (Chair 2017)
  • Sweetwater Authority Operations Committee (Chair 2009-2012, 2015-2016)
  • South Bay Irrigation District Deputy Treasurer (2007, 2013)
  • Sweetwater Authority Governing Board Vice Chair (2015-2016)
  • South Bay Irrigation District Board of Directors President (2009, 2010, 2014, 2015)
  • South Bay Irrigation District Board of Directors Vice President (2008)
  • South Bay Irrigation District Board of Directors (since 2006)
  • Sweetwater Authority Governing Board (since 2006)

Professional & Other Affiliations & Information

  • 2005 Chula Vista Environmentalist of the Year
  • Awarded certificate of recognition in Special District Governance by the California Special Districts Association (CSDA) Leadership Foundation
  • Community Advocate, and Member: Crossroads II, Southwest Chula Vista Civic Association (Co-Founder), Environmental Health Coalition
  • Delta Kappa Gamma International Honorary Women Educators Society Area 16 Regional Outstanding Public Service Recognition. Current Learning is for Everyone (L.I.F.E.) liaison for Gamma Omicron. Also, member, Kappa Gamma Pi Honorary Educators Society
  • Emeritus Member of Southern California American Society of Microbiology
  • Honorary Life Member of the American Lebanese Syrian Ladies Club of San Diego
  • Member of the Bonita Museum & Cultural Center
  • Member of the Chula Vista Chamber of Commerce and Life Member of the Chula Vista Nature Center (Living Coast Discovery Center)
  • Member of the Friends of the Chula Vista Library
  • Past member of the Bonita Business and Professional Association
  • President of the Chula Vista Odawara Sister Cities, Sister Cities International Volunteer of Distinction
  • Professor Emeritus of Microbiology and Environmental Biology from the School of Math, Science, and Engineering of Southwestern College
  • Represents SBID on the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) Special Districts Advisory Committee (2009-2011 and 2013-2020)
  • Served on ACWA Communications Committee
  • Served on the Chula Vista Charitable Foundation Founding Governing Board, and Current Founding Member of Endow Chula Vista, a part of the San Diego Foundation
  • Served on the Chula Vista Resource Conservation Commission, International Friendship Commission, and Ethics Board
  • Served on the Cuyamaca Community College "Project WaterWorks" Advisory Board
  • Served on the General Plan 2005 Update (GPU) Steering Committee representing the Environment, Open Space and Sustainable Development Vision 2020 GPU Subcommittee
  • Served on the International Boundary and Water Commission Citizens Forum Board for the San Diego-Tijuana Region (Two Terms)
  • Served on the San Diego County Solid Waste Hearing Panel (Two Terms)
  • Served on the Unified Port District Bayfront Master Plan Steering Committee representing the Chula Vista GPU Steering Committee
  • Serves on the ACWA Water Quality and Groundwater Committees
  • Serves on the Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA) Joint Powers Insurance Authority Board (2015-2017)
  • Serves on Chula Vista Energy Generation Facilities Committee (2010-2013)
  • Serves on the Chula Vista Interagency Water Task Force (2017)
  • Southwest San Diego County LIONS (Past President and Current Executive Committee); District 4-L6 LIONS; Melvin Jones Humanitarian Fellow and Past 4-L6 International Director and 4L6 Lions Roaring Times Co-editor
  • Who’s Who in America – Marquis Honoree of Distinction


Contact Director Terry Thomas
Teresa "Terry" Thomas