News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/15/2022 12:01:59 PM to 12/15/2022 12:06:12 PM.

News Flash

Press Releases

Posted on: December 15, 2022

[ARCHIVED] Board Members sworn in for 4 year terms; newly appointed members and leadership changes

Blue gavel on white background with Sweetwater Authority logo

At the December 14 Sweetwater Authority (Authority) Governing Board meeting, Steve Castaneda and Hector Martinez were sworn into their four-year terms as Directors. At the same meeting, the Authority’s Governing Board (Board) appointed Director Hector Martinez as Board Chair and Director Paulina Martinez-Perez as Vice Chair for the 2023 term. Director Castaneda was reelected to represent Division 1, and has served on the Authority’s Board since 2014. Director Martinez was reelected to represent Division 4 and has served on the Board since 2018. 

“I am looking forward to serving as Board Chair in 2023,” said Director Hector Martinez. “Serving safe and reliable water to our customers is the priority for our Governing Board and we look forward to working together in service to our community in the new year.”

City of National City Mayor Ron Morrison and Councilmember Ditas Yamane were appointed to the Authority’s Governing Board. The appointments were confirmed at the City of National City Council meeting on December 13. Their four-year terms will begin on January 1, 2023.  Morrison and Yamane will replace Board members Director Alejandra Sotelo-Solis and Director Mona Rios whose terms expire on December 31, 2022. 

Jose Preciado, who was elected to City Council in Chula Vista, resigned from the South Bay Irrigation Board (SBID) creating a vacancy on both boards. An appointment for the remainder of his term will be filled by SBID in 2023. Information on how to apply will be available at The SBID also appointed new officers at its December 14 meeting. Director Paulina Martinez-Perez will be the President and Director Josie Calderon-Scott will serve as Vice President. These terms will begin in 2023. 

The Authority’s Board is composed of seven members; five directors are elected by division by the citizens of the South Bay Irrigation District, and two directors are appointed by the Mayor of National City, subject to City Council confirmation.

Facebook Twitter Email