News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/9/2024 6:46:08 AM to 3/1/2024 12:00:00 AM.

News Flash

Press Releases

Posted on: January 9, 2024

[ARCHIVED] SWA Board appoints new leadership for 2024 term

SWA logo photo of gavel and text Board Appoints New Leadership for 2024 Term

Last month, the Sweetwater Authority (Authority) Governing Board (Board) appointed Director Paulina Martinez-Perez as Board Chair and Director Hector Martinez as Vice Chair for the 2024 term. Martinez-Perez has served on the Board since 2020 and Martinez has served since 2018.

At the same meeting, the Board adopted Resolution 23-23, adjusting the Authority Board Meeting times to 5:00 p.m. on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month.

As one of their first duties as Chair and Vice Chair, Martinez-Perez and Martinez will engage in an all-day Strategic Plan Workshop along with the entire Authority Board and Department Heads to evaluate the progress of the Fiscal Year 2023-24 Work Plan initiatives, and set goals and priorities for the next fiscal year.  

“We have a busy year ahead working to advance the policies, plans and programs that make the Authority a premier water agency,” said Chair Martinez-Perez. “I’m honored to serve as Chair during this exciting time, and to work together with the Board to ensure we maintain a safe and reliable water supply for our current and future customers.” 

At its meeting on December 18, 2023, the South Bay Irrigation District (SBID) Board of Directors also appointed new officers for the 2024 term. Director Manny Delgado will serve as President and Director Josie Calderon-Scott as Vice President. SBID meetings will now be held at 5:00 p.m. on the second Tuesday of the month.

The Sweetwater Authority Governing Board is composed of five directors elected by division by the citizens of the SBID, and two directors appointed by the Mayor of National City, subject to City Council confirmation.

For more information, including the Board calendar and agendas, visit

Facebook Twitter Email