News Flash Home
The original item was published from 12/13/2018 12:44:28 PM to 12/13/2018 12:46:07 PM.

News Flash

Press Releases

Posted on: December 13, 2018

[ARCHIVED] SWA Board members sworn in for four year terms; new chair and vice chair appointed

Sweetwater Authority _ South Bay Irrigation District (SBID)

Newly elected and reelected Sweetwater Authority board members sworn in for four year terms; new chair and vice chair appointed 

At the December 12 Sweetwater Authority (Authority) Governing Board meeting, Steve Castaneda and Hector Martinez were sworn into their four-year terms as Directors. At the same meeting, the Authority’s Governing Board appointed Castaneda as Board Chair and Jose Preciado as Vice Chair for 2019-2020 term.

Castaneda was reelected to Division 1, and has served on the Authority’s Board since 2014. Martinez is the newly-elected Director in Division 4. He replaces former Director Teresa “Terry” Thomas, who retired from the Board after serving for 12 years.

The Authority’s board is composed of seven members; five directors are elected by division by the citizens of the South Bay Irrigation District, and two directors are appointed by the Mayor of National City, subject to City Council confirmation.

Facebook Twitter Email