News Flash Home
The original item was published from 1/31/2020 9:34:55 AM to 1/31/2020 11:13:37 AM.

News Flash

Press Releases

Posted on: January 31, 2020

[ARCHIVED] SWA Board Appoints Chair and New Committee Assignments for 2020

2020 SWA Board Chair Steve Castaneda and Vice Chair Hector Martinez

Sweetwater Authority (Authority) Governing Board voted in December to appoint Steve Castaneda as Board Chair for 2020; this will be his second term as chair. Hector Martinez was appointed as Vice Chair for 2020. 

In January, Chair Castaneda assigned the Authority’s seven-member board to the Authority’s standing committees. 

Finance and Personnel Committee

  • José Cerda
  • Jose Preciado
  • Alejandra Sotelo-Solis

Operations Committee

  • Josie Calderon-Scott
  • Jerry Cano
  • Hector Martinez

Communications Committee

  • Josie Calderon-Scott
  • José Cerda
  • Alejandra Sotelo-Solis

Authority Board members serve on standing committees, interagency committees and boards, and ad hoc committees. A full list of committee assignments can be found under the individual directors’ biographies on the Authority’s website at 

The Authority’s Board is composed of seven members; five directors are elected by division by the citizens of the South Bay Irrigation District, and two directors are appointed by the Mayor of National City, subject to City Council confirmation.

Facebook Twitter Email